Monday, November 18, 2019

CSA Shares the Week of November 18, 2019

Small/Large Veggies with Fruit: sweet potatoes, cauliflower, Romaine lettuce, carrots, onions, cranberries, pepper, sage, Mutsu apples, and Fuji apples.  

Large Veggies with Fruit: the above items (and more of them), plus Brussels sprouts, kale, gold potatoes, and thyme.

Fruit Only: cranberries, Seckel pears, Mutsu apples, and Pink Lady apples. 

Enjoy! 

Recipes to compliment your produce: 
Carrots, Shallots, Sage, and Thyme - https://wellvegan.com/recipe/carrots-with-shallots-sage-and-thyme?fbclid=IwAR0rmUB887kgiw59Dn3jJ3FTmMvZHnmbMqb9jqAgnr7tyA55LpmW1EXXyk8

Thanksgiving Cauliflower: https://www.delish.com/cooking/recipe-ideas/recipes/a50157/thanksgiving-cauliflower-recipe/?fbclid=IwAR1solmHF_SrvOeTdtA-0Z75Hpij2rCkuLalO6a4AgYHDDO0v9nfeqzwKd0

Savory & Sweet Cranberry Recipes: https://www.delish.com/holiday-recipes/thanksgiving/g309/fresh-cranberries/?fbclid=IwAR0sds3CT5EqoRTeGRxTit2FpgJo31hF7hHou0-Gs2nnUL8pBdraKJSYcfg

Sage Recipes: https://www.epicurious.com/ingredients/our-best-sage-recipes-gallery


A bit about seckel pears: https://www.thekitchn.com/ingredient-spotlight-seckel-pe-129599

Monday, November 11, 2019

CSA Shares the Week of November 11, 2019

Small/Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: broccoli, spinach, garlic, escarole, red potatoes, red leaf lettuce, parsley, Stayman apples, and Golden Delicious apples.

Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: the above items in larger quantities, plus a pie pumpkin, kohlrabi, crimini mushrooms, and either oregano or thyme. 

Fruit Only Shares: Apples: Cameo, Stayman, and Golden Delicious.

Enjoy! 

Monday, November 4, 2019

CSA Shares the Week of November 4, 2019

Small/Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: cauliflower, either spaghetti squash or acorn squash, carrots, dandelion greens or Swiss chard, fennel, onion, thyme or parsley, Cameo apples, and Fuji apples.

Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: the above items in larger quantities, plus Brussels sprouts, beets or kale, celery root, and sage.

Fruit Only Shares: persimmons, Granny Smith apples, Gala apples, and blueberry jam.

Enjoy! 

Monday, October 28, 2019

CSA Shares the Week of October 28, 2019

Small/Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: kale, red potatoes, broccoli, spinach, Daikon radish, peppers or carrots, marjoram or oregano, Cameo apples, and Stayman apples.

Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: the above items (in larger quantities), plus parsnips, leeks, arugula, and basil.

Fruit Only Shares: persimmons, Cameo apples, and Golden Delicious apples.

Enjoy! 

Vegan Caramel Dip: https://www.thespruceeats.com/dairy-free-caramel-dip-1000719

Baked Parsnip Fries With Rosemary: https://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/baked-parsnip-fries-with-rosemary-394689?fbclid=IwAR08ClZ4_TAHIHsUOG_SKauh8sYYal7eRRwVgeg6x1hDIJscJgGbhRQvEcA

Lemon Garlic Shrimp & Broccoli Sheet Pan Dinnerhttp://www.justjessieb.com/2019/06/lemon-garlic-shrimp-broccoli-sheet-pan/?fbclid=IwAR25-ORX5R0MuaIfum68Jq9NSTE0udx63Es8_dg6f1GWX4p0AR5rzlnsAkM

Vegetarian Kale Soup: https://www.delish.com/cooking/recipe-ideas/a25647805/vegetarian-kale-soup/?fbclid=IwAR3LB4YXaH8g_Z8s5Sda_fRNoMBP0tyiTIOyNscdE2VpULBxc6oGU1I8irE

20 Persimmon Recipes: https://www.yummymummykitchen.com/2016/10/20-persimmon-recipes.html?fbclid=IwAR0IWn5vHDLXCYq5ZchMj2ZVbjSjZYJkjZVx4iPs_-9ztdPpACjfK3Dhqxo

Oregano vs Marjoram: https://www.thekitchn.com/whats-the-difference-between-oregano-and-marjoram-243310

Drying Fresh Basil:  https://www.gardeningknowhow.com/edible/herbs/basil/drying-basil.htm?fbclid=IwAR3t6y6IVw_GpjKfogoOZ-sTRCUNlVmFvNzPgJdoavyS4R6QZBPOYUXwEJ0



Monday, October 21, 2019

CSA Shares the Week of October 21, 2019

Small/Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: sweet potatoes, cauliflower, cabbage, spinach, red onion, garlic, thyme or marjoram, Fuji apples, and Golden Delicious apples.

Large Veggies with Fruit Shares: the above items, plus tomatoes, basil, dandelion greens, and broccoli rabe.

Fruit Only Shares: persimmons, Gala apples, and Golden Delicious apples.

Enjoy! 


Highland Orchards Farm Market, is a small, family-owned and operated farm in northern Delaware, established 1832. We grow fruits and vegetables without synthetic chemicals or pesticides. We sell our produce through our farm market located on the farm, through our CSA program, and at two farmers’ markets in Philadelphia. Real food, a real farm, for people who really like to eat!